Day 13

Monday, October 7, 2013

Rockaway Beach-Pacific City,OR

41 MIRACULOUSLY DRY Miles

As a kid I had a dream – I wanted to own my own bicycle. When I got the bike I must have been the happiest boy in Liverpool, maybe the world. I lived for that bike. Most kids left their bike in the backyard at night. Not me. I insisted on taking mine indoors and the first night I even kept it in my bed. ~ John Lennon

Our bikes are also always by our side, never more than a few feet away. 

We are lucky today. Rain is forecast, however nary a drop fell upon us. Instead we felt sunshine on the incredibly long uphill to Cape Lookout. 

The route today took us through Tillamook (we did not stop to taste the cheese) and onto Netarts and the Three Capes Scenic Route. I skipped the first cape when I saw the elevation profiles and found a shortcut, a good thing as the Lookout, the second cape, was a relatively steep uphill grade for 3 miles.  The vistas were well worth the climb. 

Tonight we are in the quiet town of Pacific City, plotting our distances and destinations for tomorrow. There are thankfully many options depending on the weather and the terrain. 

Joe has lucked out once again; as long as I can find inexpensive hotel rooms, we won’t be sleeping in a $36.00 a night yurt.  I have not figured out a rhyme or reason for the huge variation in rates yet.  Tonight’s is $49.00, redecorated and spotless, clapboard sided with Adirondack chairs on our covered porch. Go figure.

There is a local tavern a block away, thus everyone is content. 

Good Night and God Bless All.  

Day 13

One thought on “Day 13

  1. i believe there is a new product out that you can put on your clothes to keep them dry. The advertisements are fantastic, they spray and shoes and walk in mud/water and they come out clean, I think this is by Rust Oleum (not sure) but know that Loew’s cares it. Just a thought for you two on raining days. Susan, the blog is wonderful. Where are pictures of you and Joe? Would be nice to see. Be safe.

Leave a Reply

